Opening July 23rd…

2014's 100 Resilient Cities Challenge

The Rockefeller Foundation launched the 100 Resilient Cities Challenge in 2013 to enable 100 cities to better address the increasing shocks and stresses of the 21st century. Nearly 400 cities across six continents applied to be among the first cities selected to receive technical support and resources to improve their urban resilience over three years.

The first group of 32 cities was announced on December 3, 2013, selected by judges with unique expertise on tools and strategies that make a city better prepared to face natural and manmade disaster. Each of the 32 cities is currently in the process of kicking off their challenge engagement—read more about what we’ve learned from our first resilience workshops, and more about what we offer our member cities.

The 2014 Challenge launches on July 23rd - sign up for our e-mail newsletter to receive updates and more information.

Winners of 2013's 100 Resilient Cities Challenge:


Dakar (Senegal)
Durban (South Africa)

Central and South America

Medellín (Colombia)
Mexico City (Mexico)
Porto-Alegre (Brazil)
Quito (Ecuador)
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)


Bristol (UK)
Glasgow (UK)
Rome (Italy)
Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Vejle (DK)

Middle East

Ashkelon (Israel)
Byblos (Lebanon)
Ramallah (Palestine)

North America

Berkeley (CA)
Boulder (CO)
El Paso (TX)
Jacksonville (FL)
Los Angeles (CA)
New Orleans (LA)
New York City (NY)
Norfolk (VA)
Oakland (CA)
San Francisco (CA)


Christchurch (New Zealand)
Melbourne (Australia) 

South Asia

Surat (India)

Southeast Asia

Bangkok (Thailand)
Da Nang (Vietnam)
Mandalay (Myanmar)
Semarang (Indonesia)